Notices
C6 Corvette ZR1 & Z06 General info about GM’s Corvette Supercar, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Kraken

[Z06] Good website or book to learn about basic car mechanics and modifications?

Old 02-15-2013, 01:26 PM
Adam_W
Burning Brakes

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Good website or book to learn about basic car mechanics and modifications?

I'm just getting into corvettes, and am admittedly ignorant about how a car functions.

For example, when I read a For Sale advertisement that describes:

------------
Tuned by PJ at Blackops Motorsports (Never seen a driveability tune so good!) (It is a very rich tune for reliability) $500
Magnuson TVS2300 (Only 2k miles on this) $6000
3.4 inch front pulley installed, will include 3.2 and 3 inch which have never been used
Rear 1:1 Cog drive for some blower whine (stock rear pulleys included) $560
ECS Fuel system with exterior pump to support Maggie (2k miles) $1100
FIC 80lb Injectors (2k miles) $560
Ported throttle body (Cory Harris)
Ported LS3 heads w/solid SS valves (Texas Speed) (Roller Rockers) $2000
Lingenfelter GT-11 Cam
Callaway Honker CAI for Maggie TVS2300 (2k miles) $550
Magnaflow Axleback $800
Ported Oil Pump
HD Timing Chain
Dual Springs (2k miles on these)
Comp Chromoly Pushrods
Dynatech LT Headers w/"high flow cats and Xpipe $1200
Oil Catchcan
DTE Stage 2 Rear w/3.90 gears $2250
Elite Eng Tunnel Plate
MGW Shifter (1k miles) $225
Z06 Springs
Koni FSD Shocks
Hotchkis Swaybars
Eradispeed Stage 2 Rotors (front and rear)
SS Brake lines

--------