C6 Forced Induction/Nitrous C6 Corvette Turbochargers, Superchargers, Pulley Upgrades, Intercoolers, Wet and Dry Nitrous Injection, Meth
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Nitrous install on LS3 - what is used to retard timing?

Old 01-19-2012, 04:29 PM
JUIC3D
Le Mans Master

Received 14 Likes on 9 Posts
Tech Contributor
St. Jude Donor '11-'12-'13-'14

Default Nitrous install on LS3 - what is used to retard timing?

I'm looking to pick up a Nitrous outlet plate kit for my LS3 and I'm wanting to know what else is needed to properly setup the system and tune accordingly.

I'm planning on starting with a 75-100shot and work up from there.

I know I'll need the necessary safety hardware etc(FPSS, window switch etc), but what do I need to retard timing when the nitrous sprays? Is it all done in the tune(HPT) or is it external hardware that is used to fool the ECU?

I'm new to the nitrous world and want to try it first hand to see if it's something I'll like.

What are some good resources to read up on everything nitrous related. I did a search on this site, but there's not a great deal of information available.
Old 01-19-2012, 04:43 PM
turbotuner20v
Safety Car

Received 211 Likes on 118 Posts

spraying w/ the turbo, or no more turbo?

I was going to use the Lingenfelter unit before I went S/C
Old 01-19-2012, 04:46 PM
JUIC3D
Le Mans Master

Tech Contributor

Slight detour in plans. I've never had a nitrous car and I want to try it. I can always try it out, and if I don't like it, sell the kit and put it towards the turbo setup, but for now, I'm going to try the nitrous route.

I saw you had a baller nitrous setup for sale awhile back but I'm late to the party.

Which lingenfelter unit? I'm reading up in LS1tech right now, trying to gain as much knowledge as I can.

I'm still thinking the NO plate kit for 05-09 vettes will be just what I'm looking for. I'll probably run dual bottles in the back for the bling factor though.
Old 01-19-2012, 04:49 PM
FloydSummerOf68
Race Director