Sponsored by:

Oversteer 101

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2006, 09:37 PM
SeeFiveOhFun
Racer

Received 10 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Oversteer 101

I'm currently on a learnng curve with my first 'vette, a '98 A4 vert I purchased 6 months ago. This weekend I was taking a spirited (not wreckless, mind you) drive through the hills of Napa Valley. My car has 23k miles and the original rubber. As I was in the middle of an S-turn, I noticed some moisture on the pavement ahead. For the record, I'm 35 and have been driving performance vehicles since my first car, a 1986 Mustang GT. Now I am by no means a professional driver, but I have grown up with some experience with regards to pushing limits, so to speak. Anyway, back to the moisture on the road at Napa - long story short, I did a complete 180 in the middle of the road, and by the grace of God, I managed to bring it to a stop without a scratch. This is not the first time I was surprised by this car's intolerance to S-turns (and the other time was on dry pavement). I'm wondering whether the fact that this car has 8 year old tires is the main contributor to my lack of control or if I have just forgotten how to drive over the years. Because if memory serves me, I used to be able to take winding roads more aggresively in the aforementioned '86 GT than this 'Vette. And considering the comparison, I am definitely surprised by this discovery. I mean really, it seems unlikely that a 1986 Mustang GT would (or should) out handle a C5 Corvette (that has all 4 wheels and tires). Are these cars notorious for oversteer, or do I need to say good-bye to my 8 year old run-flats??
Thanks for any feedback, folks.

~SM
Old 03-05-2006, 09:44 PM
Alex1217
Team Owner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
St. Jude Donor '08-'09

Originally Posted by SeeFiveOhFun